Backroads to Belonging

How do we define our sense of belonging?

And what happens in those moments when an absence is felt or a new presence enters?

The notion of belonging emerged when I moved from my home town of Melbourne to pursue the long held dream of living in ‘the country’.

Suddenly everything was unfamiliar and the long process of taking root began through moments of repetition and re-tracing experiences until they became familiar; a street corner that was visited every morning or weekend trips that allowed me to slowly have the courage to take the backroads.

During this time, almost daily, a group of birds began to visit the electrical wires outside my window. For the next 9 months I began recording their visits. I wanted to know what their interaction would sound like if their movement across the wires was translated into notes on a page and discover what the effect was when one left or came, when they jumped about, gathered in groups or sat patiently out on their own.

More and more, living out on a new limb and finding new connections, I have begun to treasure the fleeting and mundane moments. Sharing a cup of tea, a walk or a meal. In order to explore this idea I asked those people who have been birds on my wire to choose objects of significance to Yarram Courthouse Backroads to Belonging Invitationthem and used these as inspiration for a series of still lives.

Through these works I have attempted to capture the value of simple objects, symbols of how we come to understand ourselves and express who we are to the outside. More recently I have drawn inspiration from the changing environment of Gippsland as my eye moved out of the inner world of the city and into a larger arena of the regional landscape.

Workshop:

Centre Connect Create Workshop

Sunday 1 May

Creative Gippsland

Leave a Reply

